How old do you have to be to get car insurance in washington state?

Washington State's mandatory liability insurance law requires proof of liability insurance for anyone who drives a vehicle or motorcycle in our state. In the state of Washington, teen drivers must obtain liability coverage by law after obtaining a license and starting driving without adult supervision. Your teen may have their own insurance, but premiums for teen drivers are exceptionally high. It's generally cheaper to add a child to your current policy, since by insuring multiple vehicles with a single policy, you can usually receive a discount.

In the past, insurers sent a device by mail that was connected to the car to track usage and habits. The cheapest car insurance companies for teens are Travelers, USAA and Progressive, according to the WalletHub analysis. While car insurance is often expensive for teens, there are still ways to reduce the cost of covering a young driver. If your teen's car has a lot of mileage and isn't worth that much, you won't necessarily need to have collision or comprehensive insurance.

However, Washington State has a Washington car insurance plan, which provides high-risk drivers with an insurance company to use. Most car insurance companies will require teens who live with their parents to be listed on the parents' policy. If you're looking for a policy and want to start your search, you can start by looking at WalletHub's guides on the best car insurance for teens and the cheapest car insurance for teens. Car insurance for teens is much more expensive than coverage for older, more experienced drivers, due to teens' propensity to drive riskly and the relative lack of experience behind the wheel.

Younger teens tend to pay more for car insurance coverage, and 16-year-olds pay an average of 85% more than 19-year-olds. One of the best ways to reduce the cost of car insurance for teens is to add them to an existing policy instead of having them buy their own policy. The most affordable way to get car insurance for a teen is to add the teen to a more experienced driver's policy, such as that of a parent or guardian. This information is not an insurance policy, does not refer to any specific insurance policy, and does not modify any provision, limitation, or exclusion that is expressly stated in any insurance policy.

Adding a teen to an existing car insurance policy can be significantly cheaper than having a teen get their own policy. If the cost of car insurance for a 16-year-old person is still too high, you might consider adding them to an existing policy.